Catherine Thompson - A Little About Me...

catherine thompson

I have over 20 years experience working with babies and toddlers. I began my career in 2004 following completion of a Paediatric Nursing Degree in Oxford, England. I then went on to practice as a children’s nurse at a variety of hospitals in both the UK and Australia.

In 2006 in Australia, I made the transition into Early Childhood and worked at a number of select independent and larger scale organisations in leadership roles. In 2011 I obtained a Diploma in Children’s Services (Early Childhood Education and Care).

Between 2012 and early 2015 I took time out from my career to focus on having a family and spending time with our first daughter, who is now 5 years old.

In 2015 I resumed my role as a senior leader for my previous company, overseeing their largest nursery in Australia. In late 2017 I completed my OCN Maternity Nurse Practitioner Award qualification which is highly recognised globally in the industry.

In mid 2018 we welcomed our second daughter and during this time I really increased my focus on Completely Baby. During this time on maternity leave I was approached to take on a contract role as a sleep and settling consultant with one of the largest corporate Baby Sleep companies in Australia Ternity Group where I worked a few days a week as a sleep consultant helping families all around Australia.

In late 2022 I began volunteering with Red Nose both in direct support of their events, talking directly to parents affected by loss and helping amplify their educational messaging around safe sleep best practices via their Footprints program. I feel priveleged to be able to contribute to the critical work Red Nose does day in day out in support of parents who have experienced loss.

I am incredibly passionate about helping families to provide the best possible support and care for their children, and can relate to the pressure’s and stress associated with this.

Whilst I am not working supporting families with sleep I enjoy time with my two girls and husband – being outdoors as much as possible! We enjoy time walking, at the beach and eating yummy food!

If you would like to get in touch with me then please visit my contact page